You asked: Where are the sorrowful mysteries in the Bible?

The Agony In The Garden: Lk 22:39-46 “Then going out he went, as was his custom, to the Mount of Olives, and the disciples followed him. “When he arrived at the place he said to them, “Pray that you may not undergo the test.”

What are the 5 sorrowful mysteries?

When we pray the Sorrowful Mysteries, the first decade corresponds to the Agony of Christ in the Garden, the second, to Scourging of Christ, the third, to the Crowning with Thorns, the fourth, to the Carrying of the Cross, and the fifth, to the Crucifixion and Death of Our Lord.

Where did the first sorrowful mystery take place?

The First Mystery: Agony in the Garden

It was in the Garden of Eden that man’s relationship with God was first broken. After Adam and Eve sinned, God banished them from the Garden (Genesis 3:23-24).

How do you pray the sorrowful mysteries?

Announce “The Fifth Sorrowful Mystery – The Crucifixion and Death of Jesus” and then say the Our Father. Say ten Hail Marys while meditating on the Mystery. The hands and feet of Jesus are nailed to the cross in the presence of His afflicted Mother. “Father, forgive them for they know not what they do.”

IT IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: How was the Bible written chronologically?

What is the third sorrowful mystery?

3rd sorrowful mystery – The Crowning with Thorns

Think of the indignity, outrage, pain, and humiliation that Jesus suffered. … Meditate about my passions and find in them great riches.” Let us ask the gift of patience to accept all humiliations, thinking of how Jesus suffered for us.

What does the sorrowful mystery mean?

The Sorrowful Mysteries of the Rosary are the second of the three traditional sets of events in the life of Christ upon which Catholics meditate while praying the rosary. … The Sorrowful Mysteries cover the events of Holy Thursday, after the Last Supper, through the Crucifixion of Christ on Good Friday.

What day is sorrowful mystery?

The Glorious mysteries are prayed on Sunday and Wednesday, the Joyful on Monday and Saturday, the Sorrowful on Tuesday and Friday, and the Luminous on Thursday.

Days of praying.

Day of praying Standard / Traditional With the Luminous Mysteries
Friday The Sorrowful Mysteries The Sorrowful Mysteries

Does the Garden of Gethsemane still exist?

The Garden of Gethsemane is one of the most important and significant attractions on the Mount of Olives. Unlike the other churches and memorial holy places on the Mount of Olives, all developed and reconstructed in more modern times, The Garden of Gethsemane remains natural and much less “developed”.

What did the sign on the cross say?

The initialism INRI represents the Latin inscription IESVS NAZARENVS REX IVDÆORVM (Iēsus Nazarēnus, Rēx Iūdaeōrum ), which in English translates to “Jesus the Nazarene, King of the Jews” (John 19:19). John 19:20 states that this was written in three languages–Hebrew, Latin and Greek–and was put on the cross of Jesus.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Question: What does it say in the Bible about a man taking care of his wife?

Which sorrowful mysteries are mentioned in the Gospel?

The Sorrowful Mysteries Of The Rosary In Scripture

  • The Agony In The Garden.
  • The Scourging At The Pillar.
  • The Crowning With Thorns.
  • The Carrying Of The Cross.
  • The Crucifixion.


What is the fourth Joyful Mystery?


We think especially of the little ones who are from the same part of the world as Jesus, and who, like the child Jesus, have had to flee their homes. This includes children like Sakeena Mteir (shown right).

What is the meaning of scourging at the pillar?

The Flagellation of Christ, sometimes known as Christ at the Column or the Scourging at the Pillar, is a scene from the Passion of Christ very frequently shown in Christian art, in cycles of the Passion or the larger subject of the Life of Christ.

Why should we say the rosary?

Rosary beads help Catholics count their prayers. More importantly, Catholics pray the rosary as a means of entreaty to ask God for a special favor, such as helping a loved one recover from an illness, or to thank God for blessings received — a new baby, a new job, a new moon.

Catholic Church